This book has been on my list for a long time… and then my marriage fell apart and it was pretty much the last thing I wanted to read. This evening I finished “The Scarlet Plague” by Jack London after just 3 sittings with it. I try to read something for leisure and not just my textbooks so that I don’t get to the point where I can’t enjoy picking up a book. I was scrolling through my list, and running my fingers over a few spines in my bookshelf, and I kept coming back to this one… So, I figured, “What the hell?”

So here we go…

“Complete the following: ‘There would be fewer divorces if only people _________.'”

My immediate, knee-jerk response: There would be fewer divorces if only people didn’t give up so easily. Love – even when it’s true and the type purported to be that of soul mates – it takes work. It’s not always fun, it’s not always fair, and sometimes you just want to strangle someone, but it’s worth it… because without love there is nothing…

My second, “let’s not just be angry at *him*” response: There would be fewer divorces if only people would love and let them themselves be loved. Sometimes the hardest thing is to just let someone love you… you don’t feel worthy, and you don’t feel deserving, but that’s when you need it most. Just let someone love you… and then love them in return with all you are capable of.

