If we only hung out with people we like *everything* about, who would we have to learn from?

I’m not saying you should kick it with people you can’t stand.  Give it some thought and try to come up with 5 people who don’t have any habits or personality traits that irritate you.  Try to come up with 5 people who parent exactly the way you do, who have exactly the same work ethic and moral standards you do.  I think if you can come up with 5 in any of those categories, let alone all of them or more, you’re in a social minority.

I enjoy the diversity my friends bring.  While I don’t always agree with they way they run their homes, speak to their significant others, or do their jobs, they still bring something special to the relationship that I appreciate.  No one is perfect.  No relationship is perfect.  What you value in a relationship now may change in a few months or a few years.  What was working for you and your friend last week may not work in 5 years.  Having a difference of opinion or practice doesn’t mean you absolutely cannot be friends unless there is a lack of respect for the others’ difference, or you find that the point on which you differ is simply too great a gap for your relationship to bridge.   I’m finding more and more gaps that I don’t consider gaping chasms are often too much for my relationships to bridge.  Is it me?  Are my core values misplaced? What am I missing?  I don’t have to like every piece of you to love you and appreciate you.  I know how completely “Can’t we all just get along?” this sounds and I don’t mean to say I sh*t rainbows and love everyone.  That would just be irritating as all get-out and who would want to kick it with my holier-than-thou ass then?  I’m just saying I think I have learned to play well with others, even if they start off as people I didn’t want to play with…  Or maybe the moon is just in a weird phase…

But seriously…  I’ve been feeling like I need to do a clean-up of my relationships and friends…  When I tried to figure out who I could live without, the people I would have let go of have pretty much gone their own way anyway.  It’s taken care of itself when I wasn’t even looking.  I think there was just a quiet, mutual understanding that the relationship was no longer mutually beneficial and both parties just backed off…  If you’re in my life, it’s because I want you there.  I think I can learn something from you and I appreciate our relationship, regardless of how often we see each other or talk.   Just because I may get irritated with you every now and then, doesn’t mean I don’t love you.  So…  Yeah…

Thanks for playing nicely.  🙂

