I was lying in the grass at a park, trying to focus more on the allergic reaction the grass was eliciting and less on the weight in my heart.  A woman walked up to me with her dog.  She got so close I thought she was someone I knew.  I sat up on my elbows and raised a hand to shield my eyes from the sun.

     “Let go of your sadness. If you don’t, it will consume you. You have an amazing light. Don’t rob the world of the good you will do with that light.”

     My hand dropped.  I didn’t get a good look at her face before she turned and walked away, but I’m certain I don’t know her. I’m also certain her dog was a German Shepherd with an uncanny resemblance to my Storm.

     Thank you, Stranger. You’re right. I forget how much I have to be happy about. The sadness is so very, very heavy.

I paused while writing this because I needed a minute to let the tears just fall. Looking out the car window, I saw three birds. They were flying in what appeared to be a playful manner together. They were performing what I equate to engine stalls at the air show. Maybe it’s silly… but it really reinforced to me that it’s okay to be caught in the moment – happy or sad – so long as I pull it back together before I crash.

     I don’t know about the amazing light, but I do have three very small, but very important people who deserve better from me.

“Happiness hit her like a train on a track

Coming towards her, stuck still, no turning back

She hid around corners and she hid under beds

She killed it with kisses and from it she fled

With every bubble she sank with a drink

The dog days are over

The dog days are gone

The horses are coming, so you better run”

