Because the year couldn’t just end.  It had to go out with a bang.

We had some people over for Christmas Eve.  I made an a pretty decent dinner, though I have to admit, this was an off year for me, and I was a bit disappointed in a few of the dishes.  At any rate, no one went hungry, so I guess it wasn’t completely atrocious.  That evening, we packed it all up and went to my mom’s house a few hours away.  There were a few mentions of snow, but around these parts, it’s like talking about dragons.  It never really happens.  No worries, right?

Christmas day, there is very stern talk of snow and I start wondering if we should drive home Christmas night since DH has to be at work Monday, and we can’t risk being snowbound several hours away.  Several reassurances later, I agree that we don’t need to drive home, and we can leave in the morning…

Fast forward.  We’re doing 30 miles an hour on a main interstate because, plows must have come through at some point, but it wasn’t any point recently.  We see 8 accidents, and those are just the ones where the cars aren’t already covered in snow and the people already gone from them.  There is very little snow on the road, but it has all been packed into ice.  I manage to make it over 100 miles in this mess…  Several of those miles included a very long bridge and tunnel, which was probably a 2 inch sheet of ice…  Then the off ramp that leads to our house involved a car that got stuck 6 times because this thick-headed twerp didn’t understand that once you had traction, you didn’t slow down and watch your back end slide back toward the guard rail. 

We’re three turns from home.  I go to make the first of three, and a patch of ice decides we don’t need to turn at all!  We need to go straight!  We glide right into the metal storm drain opening.  The only metal part of the curb for The Force knows how far, and our front end makes dead solid contact with it.  It blows the front driver’s side tire (which, for the record, I had to spend damn near $200.00 to replace NOT 4 MONTHS AGO) entirely, breaks the front axle, and at least did enough damage to make opening the driver’s side door impossible.  All of this from a speed somewhere between 10 and 15 miles per hour…

That van will be paid off in 11 payments.  11 fucking payments.  Now I either have to come up with a $500.00 deductible, or if it’s even worse, the frame is bent and my insurance will declare it a total loss, which means I get to start paying on ANOTHER vehicle.  Obviously, I am hoping with all my might that they can fix it and send us on our merry little way, but FUCK MY LIFE!!!  This was supposed to be the year we got out of debt!  We were going to pay off our credit card with our income taxes and then the van would pay itself off in 11 months (6 months ahead of schedule!).  Now this…  Seriously?  I mean, really?  2 blocks from my house after going 100+ miles on the highway with every kind of idiot imaginable around us (seriously, one guy passed us doing 50+ MPH and we saw him not 20 minutes later after the concrete divider ate his back end for a snack) and a FUCKING METAL SEWER OPENING destroys my van…

I give up.  The Force hates me and I can’t catch up, let alone get ahead, no matter what the hell I do.  GRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!

