I don’t do resolutions. I think they’re cliche, too quickly and easily broken, and just as easily and rapidly broken. I do, however, believe in self-improvement. With that in mind, I started thinking about what I wanted to change about myself. There are things I am constantly working on (my temper, yelling, road rage, etc.), but I try to add to the list as I see things I don’t like. The more I thought about it, the more I thought about how *dangerous* I could become. Thus, the year of living dangerously…

  • Say nothing unless you can say it out of love. If there is any anger or rage anywhere in the sentiment, keep it to yourself until you can add the love.
  • Recognize and respect the path. Not everyone has the same destination, and it doesn’t make their path any less hard to walk, or any less meaningful, nor is it my job or my right to attempt to alter their destination.
  • Spend more time in the moment and less time worrying – worrying about making more time, worrying about the future, and worrying about the past.

Those will all be challenges for me. For now, I think those are big enough challenges for me to tackle, though I may add as I progress. Here’s to 2011 – The Year of Living Dangerously.

