I went school shopping for Mega Man this weekend.  Our state does a tax-free weekend, and the way I see it, every little bit helps.  I got him some nice new clothes Saturday, and then decided to save the “supply” trip for today.

When I got to the store, I found the list for our school, and read through it.  I thought I read it wrong, so I read it again…  And then a third time.  Just out of curiosity, how many people think my child will go through 10 large glue sticks, and 5 regular glue sticks in one school year?  How about 4 boxes of Kleenex?  4 containers of baby wipes? 

I don’t mind sharing what I have.  I really don’t.  I actually enjoy helping out and if they still have them, I’d like to volunteer as a Room Mother.  What chaps my ass is that it’s a demand.  Why should I spend $100.00 on supplies when I need only spend $10.00 to provide my child with what he needs?  I have no problem bringing in more if and when he needs them.  I don’t even mind if they send a note home saying there are few kids in the class whose families need help.  Honestly, I think that would be a good opportunity to show my children how nice it can be to help others.  I don’t want to teach my children that they have to give everything they have to everyone else.  That’s crap.  You give what you can, when you can, and that should be the end of it.

I will be labelling my child’s supplies and I have told him to tell me if those supplies go anywhere other than his desk, cubby, locker, backpack, whatever.  There will be words if that happens… 

*sigh*

Not only can I opt out if my child goes to public school, even when I pay for public education, I have to pay for everone else’s supplies, too.  What a crock.

