Big Fish Big Fish by Daniel Wallace

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Perhaps I have an under developed imagination, but this book was not nearly as interesting as I thought it would be. I did make a mistake by seeing the movie first, but in my defense, I didn’t know a book existed until I had already seen the movie about 3 times. Anyway, while the book and the movie shared similarities, I felt the book was a bit lacking. While there were some cool tall tales in there, I didn’t feel as though there were anything really amazing about the stories being told. I also didn’t really think the relationship between father and son was explained or developed in a way in which we felt bad for the son, or felt sympathy for the father; I actually didn’t care about their relationship. I didn’t care about the son’s quest to really know his father, nor care about his father’s inability to be serious with him and let his son get close to him. Had the author shown more things taking place between the two of them over the years, I might have cared… As it stood, there was very little character development as far as their relationship was concerned.
Overall, this was mildly entertaining. As I said, perhaps I just have an under active imagination, but I actually preferred the movie to reading the book. If you’re not sure you want to read the book, short and entertaining though it is, opt for 2 hours with Ewan McGregor and Tim Burton.
View all my reviews >>

