Prodigal Summer: A Novel Prodigal Summer: A Novel by Barbara Kingsolver

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Perhaps I am just not at a point in my life where this book hits me the way it should. Having just put an end to my own child-bearing years, perhaps I should have read this either 1 year or two earlier, or about 10 years from now. Whatever the reason, I didn’t enjoy this nearly as much as I loved The Bean Trees or Pigs in Heaven. I loved those books so much that I bought copies and have read them at least twice since then. This is not a book I will be re-reading any time soon.
I found the scenery to be captivating – while not an enthusiast of bugs, or nature for that matter, I did enjoy the descriptions of certain animals and wood-life. I found the moths that recur in the sory to be pretty fascinating and it has made me look more closely at moths in my yard now. 🙂
The characters were wonderful, which is one of the many reasons I love Kingsolver. I loved Nannie the most, though she wasn’t one of the main storytellers in the book. I loved that they were all so different, yet real. I wanted to hug her and tell her life-long rival to get over himself. Haha!
Overall, it was an engaging read. I really just think the timing was wrong for me, and will probably re-visit this book many years from now.
View all my reviews >>

