After all this recent griping about our power bills, I was thrilled to hear that our power company is petitioning the state to raise its rates, yet again.  While estimates put the average monthly bill at only $116.27, I can tell you an average doesn't mean shit when half the year you're paying twice that every month.  

Starting with our first bill, ending with our most recent bill, our average has been $113.68 per month for a year.  So our increase would put us just over the statewide average and we're be looking at approximately $121.22 per month.  What cracks me up is that the president said, "We recognize this is a tough time for many of our customers.  […]  The bottom line is this will allow us to keep our rates lower in the future."  Seriously?  Did you just say that?  You just increased your rates by 18% and now you're asking for another 6.9% to avoid FUTURE increases?   I don't know about you, Mister President of the Company, but we don't get paid "for the future."  We still get paid in today's salary bracket…  Where would you like this money to come from when we've already looked into the energy share program (which we used to donate $5 to $10 to monthly, but can now no longer do so) and been denied?  Where would you like this money to come from if Mr. Obama has his way and starts the "carbon tax"?  Are you going to tell me you wouldn't do that?  If so, I better start pulling up my pant legs now because the shit…  It's gettin' deep!  While Congress may stand to raise billions in new revenues from companies such as our state's biggest power supplier, I'd like to know where the hell they think it's going to come from when so many of us are already struggling…  And no, there are no other power providers in our area…  Believe me, I've searched and hunted and scoured…

While we're on the subject of things that piss me off and empty my already lint-laden pockets, let's talk about property taxes.  Our city manager is proposing an 8 cent rate hike…  Our annual taxes would go from $2438.10 to $2589.30…  An increase of $150.90 per year, or about $12.58  added to my mortgage payment monthly.  Now, the article I read said that there have been no increases in taxes for 5 years, but I say otherwise.  When we got our escrow statement this year, we were short.  We paid half the difference, and added the other half into our mortgage because we simply didn't have the complete difference…  So our taxes HAD to have gone up because we have a fixed rate mortgage and our homeowner's insurance sure as hell didn't increase in cost!  The only thing I like about the proposed change is that the funds are intended to retain more police officers and firefighters.  They are truly some of the unsung heroes of each community, but damn if I can help keep them on the payroll…  When we can, we donate to the Fraternal Order of Police, etc.  I am sad to say this is the first year we've not been able to do so…  But the city is also talking about raising our waste removal fees, and we pay about $60.00 per month for that as it is…  And no, we don't recycle because we have to PAY EXTRA for that…  So yeah…  I just don't see where it's going to come from…  

Overall, we're looking at a minimum of $20.00 per month in cost of living increases.  Doesn't sound like much until you factor in the rising cost (again) of gas (we're just under $2.00 a gallon again and of course, DH has returned to his normal duty station, which means a 75+ mile commute every day) and groceries.  I cut every damn coupon I think I may ever use and we have a club membership for the times we can't get gas on base…  But damn…  

Seriously people?!  SERIOUSLY?! 

+A few people have inquired privately about the boys.  We went to them last week and thus far, this week has been much better for them.  T-Rex hasn't had any transitional issues.  And I, well, I am still a mess.  I just want all 3 of my babies home.  :-\

*Day 61: I am grateful that I can complain about my bills because it means I have roof over my head and while we may struggle to do so, we're able to meet our needs.

