Today was my 34-ish week appointment.  Things aren't better, but they aren't worse.  She's still hanging out at +1 (right around the ischial spines of the pelvis), I'm still 1-2 cm's dilated, and 70% effaced.  So, no progress, but she didn't exactly get up off my cervix or out of my pelvis, either.  We did the GBS test today, so that if I go as early as we're all sort of thinking, I won't have to make the decision to have antibiotics without knowing whether or not I have the infection.  With both boys, I was negative, so let's hope we're still on that course.  Baby's heart sounds great and my blood pressure is still good, so aside from the possibility of pre-term labor, we're all good.  I have an ultrasound scheduled for next Friday, the 3rd of April to check her weight, but the midwife thinks she's a good size – she guessed around 5 and a half pounds after palpating today.  If that's the case and Kili does make it to term, she'll most likely be bigger than either of her brothers!  Mega was born at 5 pounds, 6 ounces, and T-Rex was 6 pounds, 10 ounces.  I'm hoping she'll stay under T-Rex's weight – I know I can do that!  I totally believe I can handle whatever nature gives me, but I'm still nervous after all the work it took to get T-Rex out.  Mega was 45 minutes of concerted effort and a threatened C-section for decels and cord relationship, but T-Rex was almost 3 hours and another threatended C-section for the same issues.  While neither was exactly EASY to deliver, Mega was definitely less trouble than T-Rex!  I'd prefer not to have to try to manuever 7+ pounds out of this pelvis!

Anyway, that's where we're at.  I'm still on bed rest – I still contract for about 2-3 hours per day, and they're usually 3-5 minutes apart, and no, they're not Braxton-Hicks.  THOSE contractions don't make me stop and go…  "Ooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwww-eeeeeeeeeee," or make me sub-consciously hold my breath and/or stop talking.  I can sleep through BH, but these b*tches wake me up and demand that I pay attention!  I wouldn't be worried about BH contractions, anyway.  I used to think I was a total wuss, but seriously, after days of this crap, I really think I might be tougher than I thought.  Sure, needles still make me cringe, and sometimes IV's make me cry, but IV's aren't fun.  I don't get a baby after an IV.  At least contractions (usually) produce something unbelievably cool!  Still, I am ready for them to stop.  They're tiresome.  If I'm going to have to deal with them, I want the baby that usually comes with them, too!  But if I had to choose between 2-3 hours of wicked contractions every day and having a healthier baby born in the birth center, or no more contractions and a baby who is probably going to spend time in the NICU after being born in L&D, I'll take the nasty contractions.  🙂

Stay put, Kili!  April 10th or any day after that, chickie!  STAY PUT!!! 

*Day 59: I am grateful for books and television.  I'd seriously be going insane without the diversions they provide while I am on bedrest!

