The Jungle The Jungle by Upton Sinclair

My review


rating: 3 of 5 stars
I can see the shock and horror this book would have caused when it was first published. I don’t think I will ever be able to eat meat without thinking twice again, that’s for sure. Aside from that, I found this book to be rather dull. Jurgis didn’t surprise me, or really even interest me. For a work of fiction, it lacked dialogue for me. I like conversations between characters and this book is certainly limited in that department! Perhaps because there was so little about Jurgis that I could relate to, I felt nothing for him. Despite all the horrible things that happened to him, I couldn’t really feel pity or sorrow for him. For me, it’s hard to relate to a character when they don’t talk – talking and conversation makes them more real in my head. Anyway, I’m glad I knocked out another “classic” read and am on to others!

View all my reviews.

