I picked up Douglas Adams' The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy because it's something I remember seeing on the book shelves in the house I grew up in.
I was entertained. I think I would have enjoyed it more had I read it seperately – this is an all-inclusive volume, and for someone who doesn't typically read science fiction, this was a lot of sci-fi to wade through. All in all, I enjoyed it. I just felt rushed to get through it. That may also have been helped along by the fact that I had to return it to the library and I once again made the greedy mistake of checking out 7 books at a time, each well over 500 pages. *sigh* What can ya' do?
Anywho, it's a great leisurely read, especially if you do/can enjoy dry, British humor.  Super before-bed read, too, because despite the multitudes of aliens, nothing nightmare-worthy happened.

 

3 out of 5 stars.

*Day 24: I am grateful for chiropractors!  I am back to full-scale pain and I get to go back tomorrow for some more relief!

