It's a human sign
When things go wrong
When the scent of her lingers
And temptations strong

Into the boundary
Of each married man
Sweet deceit comes calling
And negativity lands

Cold cold heart
Hard done by you
Some things look better baby
Just passing through

And it's no sacrifice
Just a simple word
It's two hearts living
In two separate worlds
But it's no sacrifice
No sacrifice
It's no sacrifice at all

Mutual misunderstanding
After the fact
Sensitivity builds a prison
In the final act

We lose direction
No stone unturned
No tears to damn you
When jealousy burns

GA_googleFillSlot("lyricsfreak-300×50-btf");

Cold cold heart
Hard done by you
Some things look better, baby
Just passing through

And it's no sacrifice

Just a simple word
It's two hearts living
In two separate worlds
But it's no sacrifice
No sacrifice
It's no sacrifice at all

Cold cold heart
Hard done by you
Some things look better, baby
Just passing through

And it's no sacrifice

Just a simple word
It's two hearts living
In two separate worlds
But it's no sacrifice
No sacrifice
It's no sacrifice at all

****

It's a little bit funny,

This feelin' inside

I'm not one of those who can

Easily hide

Don't have much money

But, boy, if I did

I'd buy a big house where

We both could live

If I was a sculptor,

But then again, no

Or a man, who makes potions in a travelling show

Oh, I know it's not much but it's the best I can do

My gift is my song

And this one's for you

And you can tell everybody

This is your song

It may be quite simple but,

Now that it's done

I hope you don't mind,

I hope you don't mind

That I put down in words

How wonderful life is while you're in the world

Sat on the roof

Kicked off the moss

Well a few of the verses,

Well, they've got me quite cross

But the sun's been quite kind while I wrote this song

It's for people like you that keep it turned on

So excuse me forgettin',

But these things I do,

You see I've forgotten if they're green or they're blue

Anyway, the thing is, what I really mean…

Your's are the sweetest eyes I've ever seen

And you can tell everybody this is your song

It may be quite simple but,

Now that it's done,

I hope you don't mind,

I hope you don't mind

That I put down in words

How wonderful life is while you're in the world

I hope you don't mind,

I hope you don't mind

That I put down in words

How wonderful life is

While you're in the world

For some reason, I remember singing the first song when I was little.  I was 5 when the song was originally released (I think) and though I obviously had no idea what the song was about, I still loved it.  The second song is another that I have always loved, and maybe it's wishful thinking, but I think it's more; I remember Gram singing it to me whenever it came on the radio – in the car, in the kitchen, wherever.  I played it at my wedding, and now I sing it to my babies.  So, in honor of something I actually remember (and yes, usually my memories of anything pre-the-age-of-18 involve Gram and no one else), I am posting 3 of my favorite Elton John songs to my playlist. 

*Day 19: I am grateful for the memories I have of Gram.  While I wish I had more than just memories, or even just more of them, it's better than the complete absence of her I experienced immediately after…  Well, just after.  I don't know that I will ever be able to share her the way I had hoped with my children, but I do know that she's still very much alive in my heart and in my mind.

