• T-Rex is now in line for his evaluation.  They said they'd call no later than Monday to set up intake and then his evaluation.  Part of me says, "F*ck it.  We know he's not autistic, so who cares if it takes 6 months for them to see that?"  But then part of me says, "Wouldn't it just prove you're the worst Mommy ever if something was wrong and you deliberately ignored it?"  So yeah, we're still waiting and making the appropriate phone calls, etc.
  • I went in yesterday for my 16 week visit.  Baby's heart sounded good, but I was spilling enough ketones to create a reaction on the not-so-sensitive test strip, and I've dropped more weight.  My BP was 102/79, which is high for me, but closer to the norm they'd like to see.

  • After my ketone levels were evaluated, they asked to admit me and for once, I consented.  I felt so terrible that even the thought of an IV couldn't be much worse.
  • I had a great nurse.  She listened when my midwife and I told her I had horrible veins and after inspecting both arms said, "I have to ask you an awkward question…  Did you ever use intravenous drugs?"  I laughed and said I had never tried even a cigarette.  She replied, "Well, you weren't kidding when you said you had bad veins.  You've got more valves than normal and I can actually feel the scar tissue in some places.  No wonder you get so tense!"
  • She got the IV on the first try, but because of my sucky veins, I don't get the normal needle-deal.  I get a nice venous canula inside my arm to keep the vein from collapsing.  It doesn't feel too good, but it's better than having to try 8-million times to get a good line.  I have a nice hole in the back of my right hand, but only a small bruise around the hole and the vein that was tapped.  Much better than the typical bruise I get – I usually look like someone hit my arm with a 2×4.  So that nurse totally rocked in my book, and she can put a line into me anytime.   
  • Once I was hooked up, blood was taken.  I was so dehydrated from all the up-chucking that they had to actually use a syringe to pull it out.  Can you say, "OWIE?!"  No fun.  I was told I was a trooper because my midwife has only seen that done twice before and she said both other patients were screaming and crying and one had to be restrained.  Yeah me, right?  Yeah…
  • 2 liters of fluid and an IV dose of Zofran later, I finally got to pee.  It was still really dark and it wasn't nearly as much as it should have been, but it was WAY better than my first attempt. 
  • My ketone levels had dropped a bit (which is what should happen), but since they actually had a full sample this time, they got to see that I'm also spilling protein.
  • My blood showed elevated leukocytes (white blood cells or WBCs).
  • A high number of WBCs is called leukocytosis. It may be due to, but not confined to:

    • Anemia
    • Infectious diseases
    • Inflammatory disease (such as rheumatoid arthritis or allergy)
    • Leukemia
    • Severe emotional or physical stress
    • Tissue damage (for example, burns) 
  • If I start to feel worse, I have to go back immediately and they'll check out my kidneys and my liver.

  • So far, I still don't have diabetes, though ketoacidosis is most common in untreated Type I Diabetes.

  • I had the same issue when carrying T-Rex and we finally chalked it up to undiagnosed Celiac Disease wreaking havoc on my internal organs.  Now, we're wondering if I am still cross-contaminating myself, if there was just that much damage done to my body before I was diagnosed, if pregnancy is just too much for my body, or if there is something else entirely going on that we've yet to catch.

  • They did give me the orally dissolving Zofran, because yes, even a mouth full of water to swallow the regular pill made me throw up, so it took me 4 pills yesterday to get one to stay down long enough to do anything.  Now the trick will be getting the insurance to cover it again…  If they won't, I'll have to keep trying to swallow the pill every 8 hours because it's roughly $110.00 per month and we just don't have it…  Super, huh?!

  • I go back in 2 weeks for a weight check.  If I have not lost any more weight, they'll just repeat my urinalysis.  If those levels are acceptable, no blood work. If they're even suspect, another round of blood labs for me.  if I have lost more weight, full round of work-ups.  (I started this pregnancy at 155-ish and have dropped to 139, with the majority of that happening in the last 2 weeks).

  • December 12th is my scheduled ultrasound.  That's about the only piece of information I was given yesterday that made me smile, aside from just getting to hear the little whump-whump-whump of the Ybab's heart. 

  • Off to make snacks for everyone and hit the commissary!  Rest is for the weak!

