We took the baby to the ER last night.  He got a little over-excited, tripped, caught his chin, and bit his tongue.  He didn't bite it off, or bite through it, but it was a pretty nasty laceration in his oral cavity.  I called the after-hours service his pediatricians' practice offers, and they suggested bringing him in just to be sure.  After his last run-in with a solid object, and the resulting scar on his forehead, I didn't want to take any chances.

     I carried him in with an apple in his hand, and we were in and out in less than 20 minutes.  It was wonderful.  It took some prying, and ultimately, I bribed him with 2 tic tacs to get him to show the triage nurse his tongue.  The nurse took one look at it and said, "No bloody drool?  You said you got the bleeding to stop right away by letting him suck on ice chips?"  "Yep, that's right.  I wanted to be able to see how bad it was before I went into full-scale panic mode and rushed him to the hospital."  "He didn't bite through, and he didn't bite it off, so he's good to go.  We wouldn't do stitches on a guy his age unless we had to because he'd have to be knocked out completely and we don't like to do that to guys his age."  WHEW! 

     So T-rex has a nasty hole in his tongue, and we had to take away his Beloved Bink (sucking creates negative pressure, which would/could keep the laceration open), but he's a Trooper.  I gave him some Motrin for his throbbing chin and tongue, and he slept like an angel.  I checked on him after about 10 minutes, and he was snoring, mouth agape, totally content without his Bink.  I am betting it won't be that east tonight, but at least he got some good rest immediately following his accident.  Poor Baby Bear…  That kid has been to the ER twice, and Mega has still never been.  He has a scar on his forehead from another time he tripped and hit the bricks in the den, and Mega doesn't have a single scar on his body.  He's tough, though, I'll give him that.  He may be a total klutz, but at least he's tough.  I love you, Baby Bear!

         

