I was watching the evening news and it made me cry.  With each day that passes, I grow more and more worried about the outcome of the upcoming election.  While I don't whole-heartedly support either candidate, I strongly feel that one will do far less damage than the other, and that the "other" will be one of the worst things to ever happen to this country.  No one is all bad, certainly, but the lack of concern people have for this person's history, campaign financing, and other aspects of this person thoroughly confuse me.  It seems as though far too many people are voting for one or the other because he's "cooler."  Too many people are only listening to what's being said, and not what isn't being said, or how those things are being said; too many people aren't looking at or caring to examine the entire picture.

        As I was talking to my mom, the possiblity of Civil War came up.  She said, "If it comes to that, I hope it will be an Ideal War and not a Blood War, but [my husband] thinks it will be a Blood War."  She's not the only one we know who feels that way.  It seems as though those who strongly favor or oppose one side or the other are thinking about it, too.  That scares me…

      I had a dream several nights ago about multiple assassination attempts being made on the candidate I oppose.  After they all failed, our nation became a Police State and it was awful.  While I certainly don't foresee things moving in that direction, I do think it's a very good portrayal of my fears: that the worst is yet to come.

          I have a friend who has volunteered for one of the candidates and I must say, I am proud to know her.  It's not necessarily about who she volunteered to serve, but the fact that she was informed, and decided to help others make an informed decision and encourage them to actually voice that informed decision and vote.  The courage of one's convictions seem to be fewer and further between among people, especially, and I hate to admit this, amongst my generation.  The 18-25 year old age demographic seems to have no problem complaining, but we have a very hard time explaining why we're unhappy or what we'd like done about it.  We're becoming a generation that can't or won't provide for themselves, and expects things to be done for them.  It saddens me.  We have all these great ideas, but few are actually willing to put the work in to make these things happen…

         So start a revolution.  Think for yourself, and vote your conscience.  Where you see something wrong, speak up.  Take action.  Don't expect everyone else to take care of it.  Start a revolution.

