I've seen the movie a million times, and I started reading the book several years ago, but never got around to finishing it.  I am pleased to say that I finally finished it!  It was all I had hoped it would be and then some.  I loved the movie for filling in the gaps that led up to the Trilogy, but, as is common with books-turned-movies, the book did an even better job.  Tolkien did not fail to impress me once again with his creation of a completely alternate universe.  What's funny is that he does all of that without creating anything truly new.  There are still trees and spiders in the forest, nonetheless, it is not a forest you or I could walk through today.  There are rivers and lakes and islands and horses that are nothing like ours.  That's pretty rad.

     The thing I loved most was Bilbo himself.  I am a Hobbit-Lover anyway, but this little book endeared him to me in a way that the movie, nor his role in the Trilogy could do before.  He reminded me of myself; I may not always be the most courageous, but I will never leave my friends in a rut if I can help it.  I don't really crave a life of glitz and glammer, and am mostly happy to be among friends, family, and good food.

         I loved this book.  I am sure it will not be the last time I read it's already well-worn pages.

*5 of 5 stars.

