Mega Man will start school this Tuesday.  His program follows the same schedule as our public schools, so he will be in school every week from Tuesday through Thursday, from now until mid/late-May.  I can't believe it.  He's so excited.  He did very well the night of the Open House, and I am hoping it is a sign of things to come.  I kept waiting for the fall out, but the only time he got upset was when we had to leave.  I'm very excited for him, but I admit I am still nervous.  Seeing his school, and knowing they have cameras in every room, and they even have an observation area with one-way glass, makes me feel a bit better.  It's nice to know that if I ever want to drop by, completely unannounced, I can.  I don't know what I will do next year when Mega Man is in a 4-year old program, and Bear is in a 3-year old program.  It will be just me and the babe for several hours, 3 days a week.  I might start slowly working on my pre-req's for my CNM…  I might just relax and enjoy the baby.  Who knows? 

I'm trying not to put the horse before the cart, but both Mega and Bear thoroughly enjoyed the Open House and I can't help but think of next year when it's Bear's turn.  All the instructors kept asking about Bear.  "Are you sure he's not ready.  He's speaking better than a lot of the 3 year olds!"  "Did he just pick that up and say, 'Purple?'"  In some ways, I know Bear's seemingly inherent ability to grasp concepts before Mega did is just being the second child.  He has more people repeating things like his colors and the alphabet, so it's normal for him to catch on quicker.  But it does hurt when I see Mega getting frustrated because Bear DOES seem to get it and he doesn't.  Bear doesn't know all of his colors, nor does he have the ability to recognize letters by sight, but he is still beyond where Mega was at the same age.  I am hoping that once Mega can come home with things from school, he will get a little boost in his confidence because then he will knows songs, games, and finger plays that Bear doesn't and he will be able to teach his baby brother.

*sigh*

I never even thought about this stuff before I had kids.  I knew it would be hard to walk away from them, leaving them in the hands of virtual strangers, but I didn't know it would tug at me so.  I didn't know I would both celebrate and cringe over their first days away.  I didn't know I could be so proud but so hesitant at the same time.  There's simply nothing like having children…   

