It’s pouring today.  Trite as it may sound, it makes me think of my family situation over the last few days…  It’s always darkest just before dawn, sort of thing. 



     Our family has been having some issues regarding the plannng of a reunion.  Some nasty, or maybe just very emotionally loaded, exchanges took place, but now that everyone’s cards are on the table, things seem to be progressing quite nicely. 



     It’s a relief.  I don’t like conflict.  It makes my heart race, my head spin, and my fight-or-flight responses get kicked into high gear and just stay there.  My whole body gets into a do-or-die mindset.  I am sure some of that is the adrenal fatigue and GABA imbalance, so I am hoping that the longer I am on this damned diet, the easier it will be to avoid those sensations.  It’s not like I just get fired up when I’m on the phone, or reading the E-mail.  I stay that way for DAYS.  I can’t sleep.  I can’t eat, or I can’t stop eating (which was what it was this time).  My stomach is always upset.  My head hurts.  It’s a physical manifestation of mental/emotional pain and it SUCKS.  I can’t begin to explain how happy I was when things started to turn around.  It was like literally decompressing…



         I’ve been thinking a lot about what family means to me…  Rather than risk sounding cliche’, I’ll just wait until I can really express what went through my head when I was thinking about it…



     What does family mean to you?

