As I read this, I kept feeling deja vu.  I knew I had heard this somewhere…  Then it dawned on me – I watched bits and pieces of the made-for-TV movie starring Sissy Spacek.  Anyway, it was a good book.



     I’m not typically a crime-drama reader.  I like narratives.  I like horror.  The legalese and long-drawn on explanations for every thing are tedious for me, rather than entrancing.  This book combined both quite nicely, and I think had it been about any other profession or any other sort of “crime,” I would have had trouble getting through it.  As it was, I picked it up because I have swung away from wanting to be a CNM and back towards a CPM.  While I will be licensed and legally protected to some extent, instances such as this should never be too far from my mind…



          One thing that I sort of loved and hated was that the author never made me feel like I had to hate or love home birth.  I read the note in the back – he read Ina May’s Spiritual Midwifery to help him write the book, but he also had OB-GYN’s help him, too.  I think he accurately portrayed it.  There are people that love home birth and people that hate it, both on the side of laymen and medical professionals.  There are OB’s who support home birth and midwifery, and those that fear, disdain, and condemn midwifery.  There are mothers who would give anything to deliver their babies at home, and mothers who wouldn’t deliver at home if you brought the hospital’s technology to them.  What I found interesting was the choice the narrator revealed in the end – to become an OB to support midwifery.  In her mind, there had to be OB’s to back up the midwives in situations that led to the book she narrates.  While others saw her actions as condemning of her mother, she felt that was the best way to support her and other midwives.  Again – two sides, neither is right or wrong, but perfect for the individual.



          I think that was what I liked best: underneath every thing, there was the current that we all make the call we feel is right for us.  At the end of the day, no one can tell you if you were right or wrong and you are the one to live with the consequences either way… 

