Yesterday Bear wasn't feeling very well.  His voice was all scratchy and he was very clingy, and a bit warm, even for his usual furnace-like self.  He was pretty snuggly most of the day and didn't eat much.  Around 1, he got super cranky, even in the play room, so I just scooped him up and plopped down on the couch with him, since all he wanted, it seemed, was to be held.  In less than 10 minutes, he was passed out.  I just wanted someone to come along and paint our picture.  I haven't held him like that since he was about 6 months old.  He was completely relaxed and didn't even "need" his Binky.  He just settled into my chest and fell asleep.  After about 20 minutes, I was ready to cry from the crick in my neck and the ache in my ribs, but I didn't dare move him or try to lay him in his bed.  He slept for about an hour before stirring and when he did, he sat back a little, put my cheeks in his little hands and said, "He-woe Mumma," and gave me a hug.  That child could melt an ice berg, I tell you…

 

         If only they could stay little…

