Yesterday I had a 2 hour conversation with a friend whom I truly love.  While we’ve not lived in the same state for over 8 years, we’ve seen each other only once since I left the state, and our E-mails and phone calls have been spread very thin, we continue to be very close.  This friend will always have a place in my heart because he made a serious impression on me when he stood up for me when no one else did.  He made me change the way I looked at the rest of my life, and even how I wanted to "wind up."  After the way the day before yesterday went down, after crying myself to sleep, and after a pretty uneventful day in general, that phone call was just what I needed. 

          It took me a long time to make real friends.  I’ve never really lived anywhere long enough to have the best friend that I’ve known since I was 3.  I have 2 friends that I keep in touch with via MySpace, and we talk and keep each other posted, but no one quite like BB, LRRH, and Nae.  Once I found those 3, I decided to do every thing I could to keep them around.  I may not always be the best friend, but I’m hard core – I fight, viciously if necessary, for my friends.  I will do every thing I can to cheer my friends up, to make them feel better about any situation, or even just to see it more clearly.  I will always be there for them to cry, scream at, or just sit in silence and veg out.  I will always be there to encourage, buoy, and uplift.  I will always be there to tell you the straight story.  I will always be there to tell you when you f*ck up, too.  ‘Cause that’s how I roll.  I don’t give up on people, even when they crawl under rocks and disappear for 6 months at a time.  *wink* 

          I love my friends…  I love my friends with all my heart because that’s the only way I know how.  Sometimes it’s a crushing deluge for some people.  They expect the thimble or only part of the ocean…  But they get the whole damn thing…  Whether they give only the thimble or their entire ocean, they get my whole ocean.  That’s how I roll, yo’.   

