This evening, I was sitting at the dining room table cutting coupons out of the past 2 Sunday papers.  We had just finished dinner and the ads were stacking up next to me as I whizzed through them, reminding myself it didn’t save money to buy something simply because it was $.35 off.  Bear casually strolled over and knocked the chopped ads off the table.  I sighed and decided I would just address it when I was done.

          DH sat in front of Bear and started tossing the ads up like lottery winning in one dollar-increments.  Of course, Mega joined in.  The next thing I know, Bear is stage-diving into the growing pile of ads, Mega is laughing and tossing ads like a maniac, and DH is laughing right along with them.  Bear made ad-angels int he carpet and Mega buried DH in the ads…  I never would have thought of that.  It would have driven me crazy to have to pick up all that paper, especially after Bear started to tear the ads because he likes the sound.  *shakes head*  20 minutes free of shrieking, arguing, fighting, or any other problems, and all because of some coupon fliers and DH’s carefree spirit.

          That, my friends, is why nature makes us start out with 2 parents.  I’m not saying single parent homes are against nature, or even harmful.  After all, it might not always work out for the best to have the biological parents stay together, or even for a parent to couple up with someone else.  But for the sake of a child, it is very nice to have someone else see something that Mommy doesn’t, or to see something differently than Daddy does.  It can be a huge asset when you hit a wall with discipline, or can’t seem to figure out how to make your child’s 6th grade science project work.  It can be a tremendous stress-relief just knowing someone else will help you wash your child’s hair while they scream bloody murder, or occupy them and keep them out from under your feet while you make dinner.  It can also be simply magical for your child to have someone else play a game you wouldn’t think of, or try something you would find annoying.  It’s the simple things that matter.  Those ads cost me $4.99 per month – the cost of a subscription to the Sunday paper.  All the toys, puzzles, books, and games were far from their minds when they were stomping through that pile of ads that I saw as a mess, and DH saw as an opportunity to bond with his children and hear them laugh.  Thanks, DH.  You constantly remind me to slow down, enjoy them at every age, and that sometimes, I just need to relax and let the paper fly.

