DH and I have been going back and forth on the idea of pre-school since Mega was a year old.  I didn’t see the need for it – he’s always been a bright little boy and I figured he would do just fine when he started school.  But then, I started talking to other mothers.  DH and I recall learning shapes, colors, letters, and numbers in kindgarden.  You were more often failed for social skills than failing to recognize what sound the letter "M" made.  Today, this is not the case.  Children must already know these things and have the foundations for reading in place to get through kindergarden.  Yipes!

          I have worked with Mega on many a-thing.  I am not a teacher, so perhaps my methods need to be worked on, but I swear, as soon as I start talking, he tunes me out.  The last thing he wants to do is drill his shapes with me.  I even resorted to Sesame Street, but as soon as it’s over, he couldn’t tell me what the letter of the day is!  I am not worried – he definitely has some cognitive abilites.  He knows what a triangle is, can most often identify 5-10 letters of the alphabet, he can count to 10, and a few other things that aren’t strictly memorization.  I don’t think he has a learning disability or anything, I just think he needs someone other than the mother he spends 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with to get these things to sink in.

          Today, we’re touring a facility that a friend of ours uses.  The price is far less than others quoted – low enough that I believe with some pinching, we can swing.  He would begin a 3-day program and if he does well, perhaps go to the 4-day program when he "graduates" and turns 4.  The lady I spoke with sounded absolutely delightful.  While I am nervous about leaving my baby somewhere, I am also promising to go in with an open mind.  After all, it would also be nice to have some time with Bear one-on-one since we’ve never really gotten that.  Mega could certainly benefit from the socializing, and gearing up for kindgarden (he is NOT a morning person and his school begins at 9, so we’d have to be our the door, fed, and dressed by 8:30).  Honestly, I will go into this thinking it is already done.  If I don’t like it, I don’t like it, but I won’t talk myself out of it simply because of the financial aspect or because (and let’s be honest, this is more likely reason I would talk myself out of it) I am not ready to see my baby walk away and head to school…

*sigh*  I can’t believe my baby is ready for pre-school…

