Church Ordered to Pay $10.9 Million for Funeral Protest

"A grieving father won a nearly $11 million verdict Wednesday against a fundamentalist Kansas church that pickets military funerals in the belief that the war in Iraq is a punishment for the nation’s tolerance of homosexuality."

          I know I am a piss-poor example of a good Christian for many reasons – most obviously, my foul language.  However, even being a poor example of a good Christian, I have a very hard time remembering where G-d and the Bible teach hatred and intolerance.  While the Bible does state that any man who lays with a man should be stoned, it doesn’t say that any man who tolerates such a relationship should be stoned.  Before we go any further, let me also say that I don’t follow that particular line of thought by any stretch of the imagination, and more and more churches are even "accepting" homosexual members as well as homosexual clergy members.  As a Methodist, "Our hearts, our minds, our doors are always open."  It’s one of the few reasons I have no given up completely on being a Christian. 

          When I see things like this, it makes me cringe.  No wonder so many people and cultures take such a dim view of Christianity.  It is very hard to sell the idea of a loving, forgiving, fatherly G-d when you have people ignorantly prancing around, mocking the bravery and selflessness of those willing to fight for their right to carry signs proclaiming, "Thank God for dead soldiers," and "God hates fags."

          Last time I checked, G-d didn’t like ugly, either.  What part of protesting at a fallen service member’s funeral seems acceptable? 

          Ridiculous line of thinking.  Completely ridiculous.

          While I think that our society is far too eager to sue, in this case, I am not sure I would not have sought some sort of retribution for my self.  How dare they try to make an already horrible ordeal even worse.  It’s not bad enough to have to bury a child, but then to have to do it while people proclaim your child died because America loves gays.  So what if we do?!  What, exactly, does that have to do with the loss of someone’s child?  Last time I checked, G-d didn’t kill innocent people for the "sins" of others.

          

