I finished Kingsolver’s The Poisonwood Bible on Wednesday.  It was one of those books that I wanted to keep reading, no matter how tired I was, or that I had other things to do.  It was very hard for me to put down.  The story didn’t go down in any of the ways I had played out in my head except maybe with one character.  The ending was perfect.  The entire story was tragic, and was made even more so because of the truth it contained.

          I have been very curious about Africa and its history as of late – I also recently watched Hotel Rwanda and I can’t tell you how sad these stories made me…  But they also sparked something akin to hope.  While we have come a long way, we still have a very long road ahead of us.

          As long as people are murdered or treated as inferior because of their skin color, religious preference, sexual orientation, or any other differentiating characteristic, we will have work to do.  As long as people turn a blind eye to discrimination and atrocity, we will have a lot of work to do.

          What were your thoughts on the book?  (And I know at least one of you read the book!)   

