I want to start a book club.  I finally have time to start reading again – and yes! even books without pictures! – and I miss being able to discuss what I have read.  It’s interesting to see how the same event, told from the same person and every thing can be so differently viewed and interpreted by people. 

          So, any takers?  We’ll all put together a list of things we want to read and set a time table for each book.  On the deadline, we can all submit what we thought about the book and ask how others reacted or what they thought about certain parts, etc.  It can work, even on-line! 

So far, I know my list would contain (in no particular order):

Demons and Angels by Dan Brown

The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

The Fourth Hand by John Irving

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

1984 by George Orwell

The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner

As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner

Watership Down by Richard Adams

Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand

Silas Marner by George Eliot

I know most people read some of these in high school, but I didn’t and I feel like I am missing out.  (Heh)  So this is where I would start…  Plus, you know, I own all these and haven’t read them, so why not?

*There is now a new page in the right-hand margin for the Book Club.  It contains the "operating procedure" for the book club, the reading list, and the calendar. 

