It looks like the SCHIP expansion was vetoed.

          I agree with the veto.  If states are already facing financial shortfalls, won’t expanding the program to enroll more people create bigger shortfalls where they already exist and create shortfalls in other states? 

         

               

          While I agree that the cost of health care is high, the cost of not having it is far higher. 

          In 2003, I got a wicked kidney infection.  I had no insurance through my job because none was offered at the time.  I didn’t think I needed it, to be perfectly honest.  I was 19 and overall, healthy.

          I woke up in crying because I was in so much pain and I knew I couldn’t afford to go to Patient First, or any other medical facility, so I thought I’d wait it out.  It took only a few hours to figure out that that plan was not going to pan out.  A friend drove me to the hospital where DH later met me.  After hours in the waiting room, form upon countless form regarding my responsibility to pay for this "care," and a few rude nurses, I got into a room.  A catheter, blood work, urinalysis, pelvic exam, and a few pokes and prods later, I was left alone with DH in the room.  I knew I couldn’t be pregnant at the time, but a pregnancy test was still done.  Do you know what that cost me?  $96.00.  I could have peed on a $3.50 stick from Wal-Mart, but it cost me $96.00 for them to tell me I wasn’t just pregnant.  It wasn’t $96.00 for all the bloodwork, or the complete urinalysis, either.  The $96.00 covered only the pregnancy test – the presence or absence of HCG.  All told, it took them 5 hours to tell me I had a kidney infection and that I would have been in shock from kidney failure by the end of the day.  All told, it cost me over $7,000.00 for that visit.  That’s $1,400.00 per hour I sat there, writhing in agony.  They also didn’t bother to check for drug allergies, so I was right back in the hospital within 3 days because my body strongly rejected the Cipro.  Might I add that the Cipro was presrcibed "as written" and cost me over $100.00 for a 10 day supply.  It took me 3 years to pay off that debt and it’s on my credit report.  After that, I think you would be very hard pressed to say that I am unfeeling toward those who cannot afford health care coverage. 

          My best friend is a diabetic.  There are no generic drugs available for her.  Her prescription costs are outrageous.  Glucose testing supplies cost her an arm and leg, and yet, she maintains her coverage because she knows what it would cost with her insurance.

          While I agree that there should be programs like SCHIP in place to lend a hand to those who need it most, I don’t see the point in lending a cracking branch to a cliffhanger.  If the program is running int he red, sooner or later, that debt will catch up to all of us.  How will we re-pay it then?  If you thought trying to come up with $300.00 per month was hard for the coverage of your family, how would you come up with the money to provide care after an accident, major infection, or cancer?

          What do you think should be done regarding health care in America?  Would you make it available to everyone?  How?

