A friend died yesterday.  Doctors don’t know what initially made her sick.  She had seizures, brain swelling, and an infection in her lungs.  She was taken off life support due to the amount of brain damage she had sustained.  She leaves her husband and 3 month old son behind.

          I was not close to this person.  We were more acquaintances than friends, but had several mutual friends.  While I know this hurts me nowhere near as much as it hurts some of my other friends, it still hurts, and hurts in places and ways I hadn’t anticipated.

          I think it’s pretty normal to wonder why people die.  Why her?  It seems as though her son was supposed to be here, but why not her, too?  Why should her husband have to raise his son without his mommy?  Why should that little boy have to grow up not knowing his mother’s voice, or the way her hair smelled, or how she laughed? 

          Her death scares the hell out of me.  We already know I don’t do well with death, so we will make this brief.  Please keep her friends and family in your thoughts and hearts.  It may also be a good time to look at your own estate plans and make sure that your children are taken care of should something happen to you.

