After reading Charming’s posts regarding racism, click on over to StickyKeys and see what she had to say.

         

I left a comment, but I’ll reiterate here.

"I sort of fall into the ‘damned if I do, and damned if I don’t’ line when it comes to giving voice to my feelings regarding racism. I get asked, ‘What are you mixed with?’ all the time and it pisses me off. Why does it matter? It’s not as though you’re going to engage me in a conversation regarding the history of the Philippines, or the Indian wars, or even what role, if any, the Americans in my family had in our history.

My predominant heritage is Filipino. When I lived in southern California, people thought I was Mexican and were very condescending. I can’t tell you how many times I was asked about my green card, which field my dad worked in, how many brothers and sisters I had, etc. It drove me insane! People would talk to me all the time in Spanish and I had no clue what they were saying, so then they would just tease even more. I’m not Mexican, Latin American, or any other Spanish ancestry! It’s not that I was insulted because people thought I was Latina, it was that it made a difference to them.

It was fine once people knew I was Filipino and not Hispanic. I didn’t become friends with any of the people it made a difference to. I became friends with the people who stood up for me. I became friends with the people who were surrounded by people different from themselves. I became friends with people who had different religious beliefs, sexual preferences, family dynamics, and yes, skin color. They all helped me grow and see beyond my small little corner of the world and it has been spectacular.

Racism will never have a place in my home, nor will racists or bigots have a place in our family. My husband and I get funny looks every now and then. No one believes that my children are my children because they’re both fair-skinned, blond haired, and blue eyed, while I am olive skinned, have dark hair, and dark eyes.  Maybe I adopted them.  Maybe they’re from donor eggs.  Does it matter?!  Does it change how I love them? Hell no! It makes me so angry when people find skin color, certain features particular to a race or country or origin and decide not to like someone specifically because of them… Asinine!!"

Basically, I know you can’t please everyone all the time.  But I also know that it only takes a few good people’s inaction for something seriously ill to go down.  Don’t be a good guy sitting on the side lines.  Mmmkay? 

