I am about to watch a movie called "4 Little Girls." 

– "Director Spike Lee made his first feature-length documentary with this powerful story of the bombing of an African-American church in Birmingham, AL, in 1963, which took the lives of four girls, ages 11 through 14. The shocking incident received national press attention and became a rallying point in the ongoing struggle for civil rights, but while Lee’s film examines the crime, the perpetrators, and the long struggle to bring them to justice, it also offers a close look at the four girls themselves as their friends and families recall, in moving detail, who they were and how they lived. A variety of civil rights activists, politicians, journalists, and lawyers are interviewed onscreen, including Walter Cronkite and a brief but disturbing meeting with former Alabama governor George Wallace."

I have wanted to see this movie for a long time, but now am in the right mood, for lack of a better term, to watch it.  When I think about the 60’s and the civil rights movement, it breaks my heart.  We have come a long way, but as a society, culture, and whole, we still have a long way to go.  I try to remind myself when I feel too scared to stand up that it only takes a few good men not standing up for a cause to fail.      

Maybe after I watch it, I will post more, depending on how it effects me.  You can read more about the 1963 Bombing of the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church here.

What do you think was the most heartbreaking time period in American history?  Why?

