Today was a cool, misty, dreary day.  We ran some errands to get out of the house, but the boys were still antsy.  I have always waited until I could get a sitter to go to the library for fear that my children would start try shoving themselves in the book return, all the while wailing like little banshees, but today I thought, "What the hell?"

           It was perfect.

          They LOVED the library!  Before we went in, I explained to them that this was a magic place where you had to be really, really quiet.  If you were quiet enough, you could take home some new stories for a little bit and then come back and pick out new stories.  It worked like a charm for Mega!  I think Skeeter was just weirded out by a place so freakishly quiet, so he just went with the flow, like he normally does.  When we checked out, the librarian remarked on what good little boys I had and Mega whispered, "Lady, you not gonna get no books un’wess ew shhh…" putting his little finger up to his mouth.  She giggled and whispered back, "Thanks for the tip, kiddo.  I’ll try to remember."  He shook his head, knowingly and grinned at me.  When we got in the van he said, "Momma, I wike’uh dat p’wace!"  We came home and snuggled on the couch and read "Sylvester and the Magic Pebble" and "Chicka Chicka Boom Boom."  I got a few movies that were on my Blockbuster list (Death Becomes Her and Death of a Salesman), picked up The Poisonwood Bible and Lolita for my (BWA HA HA HA!) down time, and got The Rainbow Fish, an Amelia Bedlia book, and a few others for the boys.  It was really the perfect rainy day activity for them!  I think a lot of it had to do with them being in good moods, but hey, if we can keep it up, the practice can’t hurt!

