Before this blog was officially started, I had issues with ketoacidosis.  At the time, I was carrying Skeeter and it was thought to be caused by my weird pregnancy metabolism.  After he was born, it went away and I was normal again.  I didn’t have gestational diabetes and I don’t have diabetes now, which is what 85-90% of ketoacidosis is caused by.  The other cause is a high consumption of alcohol.  Now obviously that wasn’t the case during pregnancy, and it’s certainly not the case now…

         

          Apparently this whole, "I keep forgetting to feed myself," phase is kicking it back into gear.  About 3-4 days ago, I started getting head aches and feeling dizzy, light-headed, and very tired.  Then I noticed I was always thirsty, too.  I started to drink more water and forced myself to sit down and eat, even if it was only a little bit, when I fed the boys.  I was "forgetting" to eat because every time I sat the boys down for a meal, I figured the best use of my time would be to do things like fold laundry, take out the trash, clean the gerbil cage and the litter box, scrub the tub, change the sheets, sweep, mop, and vacuum the floors, etc.  All those things and more have to be done almost every day and it’s very hard to do that when the boys are running around.  I can do it during their naps, but that’s my only "down time," so I don’t want to spend 2-3 hours running around like a chicken with my head cut off when I could actually sit down, put my feet up and read a book without pictures.

          After feeling crappy for the last few days, it came to me.  "This is what it felt like with Skeeter."  I know I am not pregnant, so I busted out my test strips and tested my urine on 3 different occasions yesterday.  All 3 times I had moderate levels.  I felt "off" with trace levels.  I felt "bad" with moderate levels.  I felt like I was going to shrivel up and die with high levels. 

          The good thing is now that I know what’s making me all Gumby-like and even more cranky than usual, I can work on it.  I am pumping myself full of fluids to flush out the ketones.  I am sitting down every time the boys eat and making myself eat, even if it’s only a small portion.  It has nothing to do with wanting to lose weight.  I’m honestly just not hungry.  I got one of my favorite sandwiches at play group yesterday and didn’t even finish it or even half the fries.  I completely skipped breakfast because we were running late and it was either feed the boys and pack while they eat, or be even later and eat with them.  Considering I was the RSVP mom for the event, I chose not to eat. 

          Man this sucks…  Not only do I hate drinking water, "testing" urine all the time is not exactly fun, either.  Typically, I would just tell myself to suck it up and casually address it – eating more when I felt like it and drinking water and juice a bit more than usual.  In this case, I know the boys need me to be at 100%, so I have to kick my own ass and get with it!  Besides, who likes feeling like steam-rolled kaka all the time?

