Spinner’s Top 25 Most Exquisitely Sad Songs Ever

Versus

Mental Mommy’s Top 25 Saddest Songs Ever…  Or ones that can make me cry before even hitting the chorus when I am in a down swing.  Poe-tay-toe, puh-tah-toe.

Spinner’s List…

25.  The River – Bruce Springsteen

24.  Nothing Compares 2 U – Sinead O’Connor

23.  No Surprises – Radiohead

22.  A Change is Gonna Come – Sam Cooke

21.  Space Oddity – David Bowie

20.  That’s the Way I’ve Always Heard it Should Be – Carly Simon

19.  Lost Cause – Beck

18.  I’ve Gotta Get A Message to You – The BeeGees

17.  Back to Black – Amy Winehouse

16.  Shilo – Neil Diamond

15.  My Mom – Chocolate Genius

14.  Anyone Who Had A Heart – Dionne Warwick

13.  Naked as we Came – Iron and Wine

12.  In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning – Frank Sinatra

11.  Brick – Ben Folds Five

10.  In the Real World – Roy Orbison

9.   Concrete Angel – Martina McBride

8.   Dance with my Father – Luther Vandross

7.   Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley (You know it, it was in Shrek!)

6.   He Stopped Loving Her Today – George Jones

5.   I Know It’s Over – The Smiths

4.   Hurt – Johnny Cash

3.   Eleanor Rigby – The Beatles

2.   Gloomy Sunday – Billie Holiday

1.   Chicken Wire – Pernice Brothers

So for my Top 25, I will go ahead and say they’re not really in any order according to what I think is the saddest, is my favorite, etc.  These are just the songs I think are the saddest and / or evoke the strongest emotional response.  And yes, I know I have excluded a lot of songs, but I did it for songs that have been (primarily) recorded in the last 15 years because those are the ones that have meaning attached to my life.  So bite me!

1.  Brad Paisley and Allisson Krauss – Whiskey Lullabye

2.  Bonnie Raitt – I Can’t Make You Love Me

3.  Eric Clapton – Tears in Heaven

4.  Linda Ronstadt and James Ingram – Somewhere Out There

5.  Kansas – Dust in the Wind

6.  Rascal Flatts – What Hurts the Most

7.  Counting Crows – A Long December

8.  Evanescence – My Immortal

9.  Tim McGraw – Please Remember Me

10.  Brian McKnight – Do I Ever Cross Your Mind?

11.  Jewel – Foolish Games

12.  Sarah McLachlan – Do What You Have To Do

13.  Hootie and the Blowfish – Only Lonely on the Inside

14.  Oasis – Don’t Go Away

15.  Toni Braxton – Spanish Guitar

16.  Third Eye Blind – How’s It Gonna Be

17.  Sheryl Crow – The First Cut is the Deepest

18.  Jessica Andrews – Unbreakable Heart

19.  Don Henley or India Arie – The Heart of the Matter  (Sad, but uplifting, but I still include it in my list, beech)

20.  Michael Buble – Home

21.  Rob Thomas – Ever the Same

22.  Mariah Carey and Boyz II Men – One Sweet Day

23.  Live – Turn My Head

24.  Fiona Apple – Never is a Promise

25.  Annie Lennox – Why

26.  Depeche Mode – Somebody

27.  Sarah McLachlan – Good Enough

What are some of your favorite sad songs?

