Tertia has done it again.  She posted and asked us to reply, but I didn’t think it was fair to reply in her comment’s section because I could probably write a book.

So I answered in my blog, instead.

While some of these things are not necessarily things I envy about others, I won’t say that they wouldn’t be nice to have.

*  A six-figure income.  Pretty self-explanatory.  It would make staying home a helluva lot easier.  I would actually be able to afford college while staying home to raise my children…  Which would mean I wasn’t "putting my career on hold" for 6 years.  I could start my career at 28 instead of 34.  As it stands, I will be 27 before I start working toward my Master’s level degree – and I am starting from nothing, not even my associate’s in nursing.

*  Slender women.  I have been *svelte,* but after the age of 12, never slender.

*  People with siblings.  I have siblings now – by marriage, and one who is about the same age as my oldest son.  Obviously then, I didn’t grow up with my siblings.  My siblings-in-law are not close to me (emotionally or mentally – they live less than an hour away), and my little brother lives across the country.  I see people with their sisters and brothers and that is probably one of…  oh, maybe 2-3 things that actually makes me envious or jealous.

*  Shiny, stick-straight hair.  Not an envy – just something that would be rad.  It takes me at least an hour to get straight hair.  And God help me if there is even a little bit of humidity.  The second I leave the air-conditioned environment, it’s all over!

*   Moms with infinite patience, ever-clean homes, and who never leave the house looking without looking perfectly coiffed.  Maybe these moms don’t really exist and it’s all a facade, but what a nice facade, eh?

*  Those without debt.  I think that’s pretty self-explanatory.

*   People who aren’t depressed, nor have never known the depths of depression and the ways in which it can affect your life and the lives of those around you.  It would be pretty rad not to have to re-examine things and wonder if I am really a pyscho with a horrible, out of control temper, or if I was just really depressed and it’s getting out of hand because I am chemically different from you.  It would also be nice to be happy because I enjoy things, and not necessarily happy because I am manic.  Right now, I’d take the manic over the down swings, though.

Maybe I’ll add more, but this is all I can think of right now.  What qualities (or quantities, LOL) do you see in other people that you envy or would like to have for yourself?

Added – *People who have made up their minds about religion and have the intestinal fortitude to stick to it.  It’s not even that I want to be super devout, or a Happy Clapper as Tertia would put it.  I just want to know one way or the other – do I believe?  To what extent?

*  Tall people.  Just once it would be nice to be tall and not have to hem things.  I am actually happy being short, but being a bit taller every once in a while wouldn’t be bad.   

